President’s Award

The President’s Award is awarded to individuals who have advanced health related quality of life (HRQL) research and made outstanding contributions to the ISOQOL in one or more of the following areas:

  • Education of professionals, patients or lay individuals about HRQL’s value
  • Promotion or execution of HRQL or other scholarly activities
  • Facilitating or furthering policy initiatives that have an impact on HRQL

The 2021 ISOQOL President’s Award was presented by President Lori Frank to Ivan Barofsky, PhD.


Emerging Leader Award – In Honor of Donna Lamping

The Emerging Leader Award was established in 2011 to honor and commemorate past-President Donna Lamping’s contribution to the leadership of the Society. It is awarded to members showing exceptional leadership skills and potential by playing a key role in initiating and/or steering a specific ISOQOL task or project to successful completion. Such activities may be linked to the ISOQOL Board, a Special Interest Group (SIG), committee, task force or other initiatives undertaken by ISOQOL.

Congratulations to the 2021 Emerging Leader Award recipient, Jessica Roydhouse, PhD.


Outstanding Article of the Year Awards

The Outstanding Article of the Year Awards recognize the best articles dedicated to HRQL research published in Quality of Life Research and in the Journal of Patient-Reported Outcomes during the previous calendar year.

These awards recognize authors for significant intellectual contributions that promise to advance the state of the art in HRQL research methods, theory and application.

Outstanding Article of the Year: Journal of Patient-Reported Outcomes

Shawn McKown, Good practices for the translation, cultural adaptation, and linguistic validation of clinician-reported outcome, observer-reported outcome, and performance outcome measures. Journal of Patient-Reported Outcomes (2020) 4:89. DOI 10.1186/s41687-020-00248-z

Outstanding Article of the Year: Quality of Life Research

Jan Abel Olsen, A conceptual map of health-related quality of life dimensions: key lessons for a new instrument. Qual Life Res (2020) 29: 733–743. DOI 10.1007/s11136-019-02341-3


Outstanding Poster Award

The Outstanding Poster Award is given to the presenting authors of Annual Conference poster submissions receiving the highest evaluations during the review process.

The Outstanding Poster Award Winner this year is:

Thomas Poder, PhD, Vaccine for Covid-19: what are the preferences of the general public in Quebec


Student and New Investigator Awards

Every year ISOQOL recognizes the best overall oral and poster presentations at the Annual Conference made by full-time students and investigators in the early stages of their career.

Student Oral Award

Conrad Harrison, BSc MBBS MRCS, An innovative approach to develop, deploy and evaluate personalised, patient-centred, outcome measurement: an international, multicentered study with the CLEFT-Q Computerised Adaptive Test

Student Poster Award

Jens Lehmann, MSc, Hematological patients’ usage and perception of a web-based patient portal for routine care

New Investigator Oral Award

Melanie Hawkins, PhD, Making valid decisions using five sources of validity evidence

New Investigator Poster Award

Sarah Hughes, MHSc, Development and psychometric evaluation of the Symptom Burden Questionnaire for Long COVID (SBQ-LC)


Congratulations to all award winners!

The International Society for Quality of Life Research (ISOQOL) is a global community of researchers, clinicians, health care professionals, industry professionals, consultants, and patient research partners advancing health related quality of life research (HRQL).

Together, we are creating a future in which patient perspective is integral to health research, care and policy.