Special Interest Groups

  1. Home
  2.  » SIGs

Special Interest Groups

Connect with professionals who have a similar career focus.

Australia and New Zealand (ANZ) SIG
#ISOQOL_ANZ

This Regional Network fosters connections between local researchers in a geographically remote region of the world. We aim to support and prepare emerging researchers for international opportunities through collaborations, mentorships and other projects year-round.

Leadership

Past Chair
Ashika D. Maharaj, PhD
Monash University
Netherlands
ashika.maharaj@monash.edu

Chair
Liane J. Ioannou, PhD
Monash University
Victoria, Australia
liane.ioannou@monash.edu

Chair-Elect
Nadia Corsini
University of South Australia
South Australia, Australia
nadia.corsini@unisa.edu.au

Secretary/Treasurer
Rachel D. Campbell, PhD
University of Sydney
New South Wales, Australia
r.campbell@sydney.edu.au

Board Liaison
Tolulope T. Sajobi, PhD
University of Calgary
Department of Community Health Sciences
Alberta, Canada
ttsajobi@ucalgary.ca

Canada-PRO SIG
#ISOQOL_CanadaPRO

This Regional Network unites researchers, clinicians, patients and decision makers with a common interest in promoting and harmonizing patient-reported outcomes (PRO) use in Canada. We invite you to join us in discussing methodological issues and developments, generating new ideas, and collaborating on projects for the advancement of PRO research and application.

Leadership

Past Chair
Ana M. Moga, PT PhD Candidate
McGill University
School of Physical Therapy
Quebec, Canada
ana.moga@mcgill.ca

Chair
Fatima Al Sayah, PhD
University of Alberta
Health Research Innovation
Alberta, Canada
falsayah@ualberta.ca

Chair-Elect
Doris Howell, RN PhD
Princess Margaret Cancer Research Institute
Ontario, Canada
doris.howell@uhn.ca

Board Liaison
Lotte Haverman, PhD
Emma Children’s Hospital
Amsterdam University Medical Centers
Netherlands
l.haverman@amsterdamumc.nl 

Child Health SIG
#ISOQOL_ChildHealth

This SIG unites professionals who share a common interest in the quality of life of children. We are open to new and interesting ideas that will foster improvements in child health and across the transition into early adulthood.

Leadership

Past Chair
John E. Chaplin, PhD AFBPsS C.Psychol
Sahlgrenska Academy at the University of Gothenburg
Pediatric Growth Research Center
Sweden
john.chaplin@gu.se

Chair
Holger Muehlan, PhD
University of Greifswald
Department Health & Prevention
Germany
holger.muehlan@uni-greifswald.de

Chair-Elect
Zephanie F. Tyack, BOccThy(Hons) PhD
Queensland University of Technology
Queensland, Australia
z.tyack@uq.edu.au

Board Liaison
Kirstie L. Haywood, DPHiL BSc
University of Warwick
Warwick Medical School
Warwick Research in Nursing
United Kingdom
k.l.haywood@warwick.ac.uk

Chinese PRO SIG
#ISOQOL_ChinesePRO

This Regional Network focuses on promoting research and education of PROs for the Chinese population by connecting with international efforts related to research and application of PROs. We facilitate networking for Chinese researches by supporting emerging researchers online, through collaborations, and at ISOQOL events.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Ji-Qian Fang, PhD
Sun Yat-sen University
School of Public Health
People’s Republic of China
fangjq@mail.sysu.edu.cn

Co-Chair
Daniel Y.T. Fong, PhD
University of Hong Kong
School of Nursing
Hong Kong
dytfong@hku.hk

Board Liaison
Tolulope T. Sajobi, PhD
University of Calgary
Department of Community Health Sciences
Alberta, Canada
ttsajobi@ucalgary.ca

Developing Nation SIG
#ISOQOL_DevelopingNation

This Regional Network identifies the social and economic issues and concerns that impact health and health related quality of life in developing countries to inform future research, practice, and policy recommendations. It also serves as a link between the members of this SIG and other SIGs to bring these social and economic issues and concerns to audiences where they may not otherwise be represented. We invite you to join us in addressing the challenges of measuring the quality of life in developing countries, considering language, and cultural barriers, the ethics of research in situations of poverty, and reduced autonomy.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Adesola C. Odole, PhD
University of Ibadan
College of Medicine
Nigeria
adesola_odole@yahoo.com

Co-Chair
Liliane Lins-Kusterer, PhD
Federal University of Bahia
School of Medicine
Brazil
lkusterer@gmail.com

Co-Chair
Vijaya K. Gothwal, B.Opt MAppSc. PhD
L V Prasad Eye Institute
India
vijayagothwal@gmail.com

Board Liaison
Nalin Payakachat, BPharm MS PhD
Eli Lilly and Company
Arkansas, United States
npayakachat@lilly.com

German-speaking Countries SIG
#ISOQOL_GermanSpeaking

This Regional Network promotes communication, interaction and collaboration between ISOQOL members from German-speaking countries.  We create a platform that enables the exchange of information, promotes research and education of PROs and facilitates networking and collaboration between researchers of all career stages, including clinicians, patients, colleagues from industry, government, regulatory agencies, not-for-profit institutions and all interested in advancing the science of quality of life (QOL) and related patient-centered outcomes (PCO) in German-speaking countries.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Kathrin I. Fischer, MSc
Roche Products Ltd
United Kingdom
kathrin.fischer.kf1@roche.com

Co-Chair
Bernhard Holzner, PhD ME
Medical University of Innsbruck
Austria
bernhard.holzner@tirol-kliniken.at

Board Liaison
Lotte Haverman, PhD
Emma Children’s Hospital
Amsterdam University Medical Centers
Netherlands
l.haverman@amsterdamumc.nl 

Health Preference Research SIG
#ISOQOL_HPR

This SIG promotes educational activities and scientific research related to health related preferences. We encourage our members to engage in organizational activities that support the growth and greater integration of health preference research.

Leadership

Past Chair
Amy M. Cizik, PhD MPH
University of Utah
Utah, United States
amy.cizik@hsc.utah.edu

Chair
Heather Gelhorn, PhD
Evidera
Maryland, United States
heather.gelhorn@evidera.com

Chair-Elect
Donna Rowen, PhD
University of Sheffield
United Kingdom
d.rowen@sheffield.ac.uk

Board Liaison
Kathryn E. Flynn, PhD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Wisconsin, United States
kflynn@mcw.edu

Ibero America SIG
#ISOQOL_Ibero

This Regional Network promotes communication, interaction and collaboration between ISOQOL members residing in an Ibero American country. We aim to increase the presence of Ibero Americans in international discussions of QOL research by supporting researchers locally and abroad.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Noélle de Oliveira Freitas, RN PhD
University of Guarulhos
Brazil
nooliveirafreitas@gmail.com  

Co-Chair
Pedro L. Ferreira, PhD
CEISUC – University of Coimbra
Centre for Health Studies & Research
Portugal
pedrof@fe.uc.pt

Board Liaison
Lotte Haverman, PhD
Emma Children’s Hospital
Amsterdam University Medical Centers
Netherlands
l.haverman@amsterdamumc.nl 

Industry SIG (I-SIG)
#ISOQOL_Industry

This SIG connects individuals from academia with professionals representing the pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical device and consulting industries who share a common interest in the application of health related QOL research. We are interested in innovative methods and research related to COAs, including PROs.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Patricia (Trisha) Corey-Lisle, PhD
Genentech
Connecticut, United States
lisle3@sbcglobal.net

Co-Chair
Ana Maria Rodriguez-Leboeuf, PhD MSc PT BSc
McGill University
Quebec, Canada
ana.rodriguez@mcgill.ca

Board Liaison
Jakob B. Bjorner, MD PhD
QualityMetric
Denmark
jbjorner@qualitymetric.com

Japan
#ISOQOL_Japan

This Regional Network aims to increase opportunities for Japanese professionals in HRQL to communicate and exchange valuable information. We facilitate collaborations on high-quality studies, create opportunities for information exchange, and disseminate the results with the Japanese research community as well as with wider Asian Pacific and global audiences.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Mariko Naito, DDS PhD
Hiroshima University
Japan
naitom@hiroshima-u.ac.jp

Co-Chair
Kikuko Miyazaki, PhD
Kyoto University
Department of Health Informatics
Japan
miy@plum.ocn.ne.jp

Secretary
Yoshimi Suzukamo, PhD
Tohoku University
Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Japan
suzukamo@med.tohoku.ac.jp 

Board Liaison
Tolulope T. Sajobi, PhD
University of Calgary
Department of Community Health Sciences
Alberta, Canada
ttsajobi@ucalgary.ca

Mixed Methods SIG
#ISOQOL_MixedMethods

This SIG promotes the use of mixed methods research in the field of HRQL research by exploring the challenges and methodological solutions offered by this research paradigm, identifying opportunities for application of mixed methods research in the field, and defining good practice. Our ultimate aim is to share and learn best-practice methodologies that can be utilized to enhance the patient-centeredness of outcomes research.

Mixed Methods: Refers to techniques that combine elements of qualitative and quantitative approaches to research.

Leadership

Past Chair
Antoinette F. Davey, MPhil
University of Exeter
United Kingdom
antoinette.davey@exeter.ac.uk

Chair
Motolani E. Ogunsanya, PhD
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
College of Pharmacy
Oklahoma, United States
motolani-ogunsanya@ouhsc.edu

Chair-Elect
Rachel N. Cusatis, PhD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Wisconsin, United States
rcusatis@mcw.edu

Board Liaison
Kirstie L. Haywood, DPHiL BSc
University of Warwick
Warwick Medical School
Warwick Research in Nursing
United Kingdom
k.l.haywood@warwick.ac.uk

New Investigators SIG
#ISOQOL_NewInvestigators

This SIG provides professional development opportunities for:

  • Graduate students
  • Postdoctoral fellows who have completed their doctorate in the past five years
  • Independent researchers who have recently transitioned to health related QOL research within the past five years

We provide early-career support to young professionals new to the field of HRQL research through a variety of online resources and in-person events.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Maryam Mozafarinia, MSc
McGill University
Quebec, Canada
maryam.mozafarinia@mail.mcgill.ca

Co-Chair
Ahmed M.Y. Osman, PhD
Tianjin University
People’s Republic of China
osmana@tju.edu.cn

Board Liaison
Nalin Payakachat, BPharm MS PhD
Eli Lilly and Company
Arkansas, United States
npayakachat@lilly.com

Patient Engagement (PE) SIG
#ISOQOL_PE

This SIG aims to ensure the patient voice is represented in ISOQOL activities through the advancement of patient engagement in HRQL research.  Not only do we discuss ways to incorporate the patient voice in HRQL research, but we also are here to support ISOQOL’s current and prospective Patient Research Partners (PRP).

Leadership

Co-Chair
Danielle Lavallee, PharmD PhD
BC Academic Health Sciences Network
British Colombia, Canada
lavallee@uw.edu

Co-Chair
Natasha Roberts, BN(Hons)
Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital
Queensland, Australia
natasha.roberts@uq.edu.au

Patient Research Partner Advisor Chair
Sandra A. Zelinsky
University of Calgary
Alberta, Canada
sandra.zelinsky@ucalgary.ca

Board Liaison
Kirstie L. Haywood, DPHiL BSc
University of Warwick
Warwick Medical School
Warwick Research in Nursing
United Kingdom
k.l.haywood@warwick.ac.uk

Psychometrics SIG
#ISOQOL_Psychometrics

This SIG explores the role of psychometrics in the development and evaluation of health related QOL measures. We seek to advance QOL research through the application of psychometric methods.

Psychometrics: Refers to a field of study and practice that deals with the theories and techniques of psychological measurement.

Leadership

Past Chair
Philip (Pip) Griffiths, PhD
IQVIA
United Kingdom
pip.griffiths@iqvia.com

Chair
John Devin Peipert, PhD
Northwestern University
Illinois, United States
john.peipert@northwestern.edu

Chair-Elect
Donald (Don) Bushnell, MA
Evidera
Arizona, United States
don.bushnell@evidera.com

Board Liaison
Jakob B. Bjorner, MD PhD
QualityMetric
Denmark
jbjorner@qualitymetric.com

QOL in Clinical Practice (CP) SIG
#ISOQOL_CP

This SIG focuses on methodology and implementation initiatives to advance the effective use of PRO measures across different medical care settings. Our ultimate objective is to improve the management and treatment of individual patients, medical decision-making, and patient-centered care.

Leadership

Past Chair
Angela M. Stover, PhD
University of North Carolina
North Carolina, United States
stoveram@email.unc.edu

Chair
Liv Marit Valen Schougaard
Aarhus University
Denmark
livschou@rm.dk

Chair-Elect
Elizabeth J. Austin, MPH
University of Washington
Washington, United States
austie@uw.edu

Board Liaison
Richard L. Skolasky, ScD
Johns Hopkins University
Maryland, United States
rskolas1@jhmi.edu

Regulatory and Health Technology Assessment Engagement (R&HE) SIG
#ISOQOL_RHE

This SIG will routinely and actively engage with regulatory agencies and health technology assessment (HTA) bodies to address critical applied measurement issues raised by these entities or that emerge from their public communications (e.g., guidance documents, reflection papers, workshops). This collaboration embraces a broad measurement perspective and enables us to build scientifically-based patient-focused recommendations regarding the use of clinical outcome assessments (COAs) in the evaluation of therapeutic interventions aimed at advancing human health and well-being.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Robyn von Maltzahn, MSc
GlaxoSmithKline
United Kingdom
robyn.x.von-maltzahn@gsk.com

Co-Chair
Ashley F. Slagle, MS PhD
Aspen Consulting, LLC
Colorado, United States
ashley@aspenconsulting.services

Board Liaison
Jakob B. Bjorner, MD PhD
QualityMetric
Denmark
jbjorner@qualitymetric.com

Response Shift SIG
#ISOQOL_ResponseShift

This SIG explores when and why response shift occurs. Our ultimate goal is to help QOL researchers and health care professionals recognize and account for response shift when using PROs.

Response Shift: A change in the meaning of one’s self-evaluation of a target construct, i.e., during a research trial, a patient’s definition of mild pain versus intolerable pain could change.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Gudrun Rohde, PhD
University of Agder and Sorlandet Hospital
Norway
gudrun.e.rohde@uia.no

Co-Chair and Board Liaison
Richard L. Skolasky, ScD
Johns Hopkins University
Maryland, United States
rskolas1@jhmi.edu

Statistics SIG
#ISOQOL_Statistics

This SIG connects statisticians working in the field of quality of life and provides a platform for communication, interaction and collaboration. Our aim is to identify and progress key areas for research and provide workshops and training for the wider ISOQOL membership.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Kim Cocks, PhD
Adelphi Values
United Kingdom
Kim.Cocks@adelphivalues.com

Co-Chair
Antoine Regnault, PhD
Modus Outcomes
France
antoine.regnault@modusoutcomes.com

Board Liaison
Jakob B. Bjorner, MD PhD
QualityMetric
Denmark
jbjorner@qualitymetric.com

Translation and Cultural Adaptation (TCA) SIG
#ISOQOL_TCA

This SIG advances the research of clinical outcome assessment (COA) translation and cultural adaptation. We promote the visibility of cross-cultural issues related to the development and use of COAs by promoting collaborations between academia, industry, consultants and pharmaceutical companies.

Leadership

Co-Chair
Dagmara Kuliś, MA
EORTC
Belgium
dagmara.kulis@eortc.org

Co-Chair
Emily Parks-Vernizzi, MFA
FACITtrans
New York, United States
eparks@facit.org

Secretary
Dana G. Weiss, MA
Illinois, United States
danaweiss311@gmail.com

Board Liaison
Richard L. Skolasky, ScD
Johns Hopkins University
Maryland, United States
rskolas1@jhmi.edu

United Kingdom and Ireland (UK and Ireland)
#ISOQOL_UK

This Regional Network focuses on use of PROMs research in the United Kingdom and Ireland by fostering engagement between policymakers, clinicians, industry colleagues, patients and researchers. We invite you to join us online or in person at our annual PROMs conference and other ISOQOL events.

Leadership

Past Chair
Grace M. Turner, BSc MSc PhD
University of Birmingham
Murray Learning Centre
United Kingdom
g.turner.1@bham.ac.uk

Chair
Jonathon (Jon) Evans, BSc MSc MD FRCS
University of Exeter
Health Service and Policy Research Group
United Kingdom
j.p.evans2@exeter.ac.uk

Chair-Elect
Timothy (Tim) Pickles, BSc (Hons) MSc
Cardiff University
United Kingdom
PicklesTE@Cardiff.ac.uk

Board Liaison
Lotte Haverman, PhD
Emma Children’s Hospital
Amsterdam University Medical Centers
Netherlands
l.haverman@amsterdamumc.nl 

The International Society for Quality of Life Research (ISOQOL) is a global community of researchers, clinicians, health care professionals, industry professionals, consultants, and patient research partners advancing health related quality of life research (HRQL).

Together, we are creating a future in which patient perspective is integral to health research, care and policy.