President’s Award

The President’s Award is awarded to individuals who have advanced health related quality of life (HRQL) research and made outstanding contributions to the ISOQOL in one or more of the following areas:

  • Education of professionals, patients or lay individuals about HRQL’s value
  • Promotion or execution of HRQL or other scholarly activities
  • Facilitating or furthering policy initiatives that have an impact on HRQL

The 2019 ISOQOL President’s Award was presented by President Jose M. Valderas to Jordi Alonso, MD PhD.


Emerging Leader Award – In Honor of Donna Lamping

The Emerging Leader Award was established in 2011 to honor and commemorate past-President Donna Lamping’s contribution to the leadership of the Society. It is awarded to members showing exceptional leadership skills and potential by playing a key role in initiating and/or steering a specific ISOQOL task or project to successful completion. Such activities may be linked to the ISOQOL Board, a Special Interest Group (SIG), committee, task force or other initiatives undertaken by ISOQOL.

Congratulations to the 2019 Emerging Leader Award recipient, Claudia Rutherford, PhD. 


Outstanding Article of the Year Awards

The Outstanding Article of the Year Awards recognize the best articles dedicated to HRQL research published in Quality of Life Research and in the Journal of Patient Reported Outcomes during the previous calendar year.

These awards recognize authors for significant intellectual contributions that promise to advance the state of the art in HRQL research methods, theory and application.

Outstanding Article of the Year: Journal of Patient-Reported Outcomes

Joanne Greenhalgh, How do patient reported outcome measures (PROMs) support clinician-patient communication and patient care? A realist synthesis. Journal of Patient-Reported Outcomes (2018) 2:42. DOI 10.1186/s41687-018-0061-6

Outstanding Article of the Year: Quality of Life Research

Niels Smits, Measurement versus prediction in the construction of patient-reported outcome questionnaires: can we have our cake and eat it? Qual Life Res (2018) 27:7: 1673–1682. DOI 10.1007/s11136-017-1720-4


Outstanding Poster Award

The Outstanding Poster Award is given to the presenting authors of Annual Conference poster submissions receiving the highest evaluations during the review process. The winners are recognized in the final program and with a ribbon on their poster board.

The Outstanding Poster Award Winner this year is:

Zheng Li, PhD MPH, Effects of Ambient Air Pollution and Pollen Exposure on Asthma Control Status: A 26-Week Follow-Up Study


Student and New Investigator Awards

Every year ISOQOL recognizes the best overall oral and poster presentations at the Annual Conference made by full-time students and investigators in the early stages of their career.

Student Oral Award

Sumaya Dano, HBSc, Measurement characteristics of PROMIS Computer Adaptive Testing (CAT) and ESASr to assess fatigue in Kidney Transplant Recipients 

Student Poster Award

Manraj N. Kaur, PT MSc PhD(c), Examining content validity of BREAST-Q a decade later to determine relevance and comprehensiveness

New Investigator Oral Award

Minji K. Lee, Confirmatory Factor Analyses and Measurement Invariance of the Patient Experience with Treatment and Self-management (PETS vs 2.0) – a measure of treatment burden

New Investigator Poster Award

Rachel N. Cusatis, PhD, Decisional Regret in the first year after Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation


Congratulations to all award winners!


The International Society for Quality of Life Research (ISOQOL) is a global community of researchers, clinicians, health care professionals, industry professionals, consultants, and patient research partners advancing health related quality of life research (HRQL).

Together, we are creating a future in which patient perspective is integral to health research, care and policy.