International Society for Quality of Life Research
International Society for Quality of Life Research

Committees, Task Forces & Panels

While the governance of ISOQOL falls to its Board of Directors, the Society also relies on committees, task forces and judging panels to provide guidance and recommendations on specific topics. ISOQOL members are encouraged to serve on a committee, task force or panel, to lend their expertise and their voice to the direction of the Society. If you are interested in serving on one of the committees below, please contact ISOQOL Executive Director Colleen Pedersen.


Advisory Council of Past Presidents

The Advisory Council of Past Presidents shall serve as a resource to the President, Executive Committee and Board of Directors via institutional memory.

Chairs: Neil Aaronson, PhD and Bryce Reeve, PhD

Advisory Council of Past Presidents Profile

Annual Conference Program Committee

The Annual Conference Program Committee shall manage the scientific content of the ISOQOL conference.  They shall develop the theme, invite plenary speakers, and solicit papers and other presentations to develop a diverse scientific program.  The Co-Chairs and committee members shall oversee the details to ensure the highest quality educational program and promote participation.

24th Annual Conference Chairs: Roxanne Jensen, PhD and Kevin Weinfurt, PhD

Annual Conference Program Committee Profile

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee is comprised of the Executive Committee members.  The role is to review the year-end audit report and tax filing.

Chair: Treasurer Cynthia Gross, PhD
Members: President Claire Snyder, PhD; President Elect Jose Valderas, MD PhD 

Audit Committee Profile

Education Committee

The Education Committee shall develop and manage all educational courses for ISOQOL. The committee will proactively solicit, review and approve proposed ISOQOL webinars. They will review submitted proposals and develop workshop programs at the annual conference. Committee will review and develop mentor/mentee program.

Chairs: Joan Branin, PhD and William Lenderking, PhD
Mentor/Mentee: Maria-Jose Santana, PhD; Juliana Bredemeier
Workshop: Nancy Mayo, PhD; Skye Barbic, PhD
Webinar: Richard Sawatzky, PhD; Thomas Willgoss, PhD

Education Committee Profile

Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee shall play an active role in identifying potential director candidates and officer positions of President Elect, Secretary-Treasurer to the Board of Directors. The committee will present the slate of candidates to the ISOQOL Board of Directors for approval. Once approved, the slate of candidates will be sent to the members for vote and confirmation. The committee shall also review and recommend candidates for Honorary Membership status to the Board of Directors.

Chair: Jose Valderas, MD PhD
Members: David Eton, PhD; Sandra Nolte, PhD; Diana Rofail, PhD

Nominations Committee Profile

Standards & Best Practices

The Standards & Best Practices Committee shall advance the scientific study of health-related quality of life and other patient-centered outcomes by leading projects to develop standards and best practices, as well as create tools to promote implementation of recommendations.  These activities may include methodologic and applied work related to patient-reported outcomes in research and practice.  The Committee will also serve as the custodian of ISOQOL standards and best practices documents, including updating them as needed.

Chair: Susan Bartlett, PhD
Members: Melanie Calvert, PhD;  Lena Ring, PhD

Standards & Best Practices Profile

Judging Panels

President's Award

The President’s Award is awarded to an individual who has advanced HRQOL research and has made outstanding contributions to the Society

Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leader Award was established in 2011 to honor and commemorate past-President Donna Lamping's contribution to the leadership of the Society. It will be awarded to an ISOQOL member who has shown exceptional leadership skills and potential.

Travel Scholarships

The ISOQOL Scholarship Program has been developed to increase the opportunity for members in the early stages of their careers, members from developing countries and patients to attend and present at the annual conference by providing funds to help defray the expenses associated with travel to the annual conference. Travel scholarships provide access to the educational content of the annual conference, and also provide attendees the opportunity to meet with their peers and establish research contacts. Members who meet eligibility requirements can apply for the scholarships.

Scientific Presentation Awards

Each year, ISOQOL recognizes the best overall oral and poster presentations at the Annual Conference made by full time students and investigators in the early stages of their career in HRQOL research.

Judging Panels Profile

Task Forces

Best Practices for PROs in Randomized Clinical Trials

Building on the success of the ISOQOL Reporting Guidelines Task Force and ISOQOL’s role in the development of the CONSORT PRO Extension, the Task Force is developing best practices documentation for patient-reported outcomes (PROs) in randomized clinical trials (RCTs).

Protocol Checklist Development Team Leaders - Melanie Calvert, PhD and Madeleine King, PhD

CONSORT PRO Guidance Implementation Tools Team - Michael Brundage, MD and Melanie Calvert, PhD

Best Practices for PROs Task Force Webpage

Diversity Task Force

The Diversity Task Force is charged with reviewing ISOQOL’s current reach to members and constituents beyond North America/Europe and to propose strategies to promote a greater international presence.

Chairs: Mogens Groenvold, MD PhD and Juan J. Dapueto MD, PhD  
Members:  Diana Rofail, PhD; Virgina Brasil, PhD; Doris Mwesigire, MD; Cindy Lam, MD; Hwee Lin Wee, PhD; Ljoudmila Busija, PhD; Skye Barbic, PhD

Diversity Task Force Profile            

Intro to Patient-Reported Outcomes (IPRO Course) Task Force

The Intro to Patient-Reported Outcomes (IPRO Course) Task Force has been asked to develop the core curriculum that would provide training aimed at health professionals, medical scientists, consultants, pharmaceutical and medical device companies, new investigators and research students, and others who are interested in acquiring familiarity with the terms and methods of research on PROs. The Introductory Education Task Force is developing an educational curriculum that will provide a basic level introduction to patient reported outcomes (PROs) research.

Chairs: Joan Branin, PhD and Nancy Mayo, PhD
Members:  Ethan Basch, PhD; William Lenderking, PhD; Jose Valderas, MD PhD

Intro to Patient-Reported Outcomes (IPRO Course) Profile

Measuring What Matters Symposium Task Force

The Measuring What Matters Task Force (MWM) will develop a 1.5 day symposium targeting industry partners, clinicians, patients, and government agencies.  The program will address important considerations to these stakeholders when developing a PRO measurement strategy to “measure what matters.” 


555 East Wells Street, Suite 1100, Milwaukee, WI USA 53202
Phone: +1 (414) 918-9797; Fax: +1 (414) 276-3349

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Throughout the website, ISOQOL provides outside resources that may provide assistance to people interested in health-related quality of life and its assessment. It is recommended that readers conduct their own evaluation of the information outside of ISOQOL activities.


Home  |  About ISOQOL  |  Membership  |  Research & Publications  |  Education & Events  |  Special Interest Groups  |  Job Board  |  Site Map
© Copyright 2017 International Society for Quality of Life Research. All rights Reserved.